USING THE DIANA F+ FOR THE FIRST TIME / PART 1

Posted in 35MM CAMERAS, TOY CAMERAS by Nicole Gelinas on February 9, 2012

Here are a few shots from my first roll of film taken with the Diana F+. I did not really know what to expect from this camera since it is made entirely of plastic, including the lens. I was pleasantly surprised at what I ended up with. As you can see everything is sort of naturally softened and not pin sharp. It creates sort of a dreamy effect that I quite like.

A really cool feature about this camera is you can shoot 35mm or 120mm if you have both of the interchangeable backs. Once you decide what size film you want to use, then you can use the frame masks to allow for panoramic photos, square photos, or landscape photos. I chose to go simple with my first roll and use 35mm color negative Klick film at 200iso with no frame mask installed in the camera.

MISTAKES OF A ROOKIE (MEANING ME!):

I would often forget to switch the focusing ring on the front of the camera while I was taking photos. This camera is not an SLR. You cannot focus by looking through the viewfinder because you will see no change. Focusing must be done by turning the ring on the front of the camera that is set for certain distances. In this case my camera has 3 distances (1-2m, 2-4m, and 4m-ininity). It was also confusing (at least for me) because it is set up in meters and not feet, so next time I will have to make a note that those meter measurements convert to 3-6.5ft, 6.5-13ft, and 13ft-infinity. *The last two images are examples of when my focusing was off!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Alexis said, on June 17, 2012 at 7:57 am

    Hello. I have an Oktomat camera and I accidentally pressed the spool release button before I finished using the film. Is there a way to continue using the film that’s in there (maybe I would get some cool double exposures?)? Or should I just rewind it and see what comes out?

    • Nicole Gelinas said, on June 18, 2012 at 10:17 am

      Hi Alexis, I would recommend just rewinding the film and either get what you have developed, or rewind the film and in a dark room reloading the camera with the same film and shooting over the previous images taken to get double exposures that way. Once you release the spool, the film inside is not tight anymore and could cause your film to jam up in the back of the camera. I hope this helps!!!


Leave a Reply

