ASAHI PENTAX K1000 PORTRAITS OF RiOt

Posted in 35MM CAMERAS, SLR by Nicole Gelinas on March 26, 2012

This is my friend Shauna RiOt. We met at art college and became fast friends even though we are total opposites. She has the coolest look of anyone I have ever met and I was so glad to be paired up with her to do this shoot.

These are the first portraits I have ever taken with slide film. It is harder, at least for me, to get the exposure just right when using slide film because the film has much less latitude when it comes to overexposing and underexposing. You either get it right on or you don’t. I made these underexposed to create a certain mood and to get really deep shadows, although they came out a little darker than I expected. I still like them. Also we were using tungsten lights in the studio and I did not compensate with a filter, which is why they have the warm yellow/orange light in them. This light also added a vintage look to the whole image which I think fits with the plaid shirt and Shauna’s traditional style tattoos. The black borders were actually from the cardboard slide frames that the lab puts on each slide. I just kept a bit of the edge on the image when I was scanning. I though the black frame really complimented the dark shadows and held the image in place. For this shoot I used my trusty Asahi Pentax k1000 because I was most comfortable with this camera and wanted to get some good shots.

Leave a Reply

