ASAHI PENTAX K1000 OMBRE CAT ON THE BEACH

Posted in 35MM CAMERAS, SLR by Nicole Gelinas on April 3, 2012

My friends and I were hanging out down by the local beach when this beauty passed by. This cat had the strangest meow I have ever heard. It was if it had one of those shock collars on that is used for dogs. It was really strange. The cat looked like it was owned by someone around the beach area though because it was very well taken care of and had a beautiful coat. I told myself it’s name was Ombre because of it’s gradation of light to dark fur. I could not help but snap a few shots of the pretty kitty.

For these photos I used my Asahi Pentax K1000 loaded with Kodak BW400CN (which means you get black and white images, with iso 400, and the negatives are processed in color negative chemicals *C41 process). I used my 75-300mm Albinar-ADG telephoto lens on this one because the cat did not stay close to us for long periods of time and I wanted to get a more up close and personal shot of the cat. Also this lens makes a really nice blurry background so the cat really stood out (see first image for example). The small black borders are actually from when I was scanning the negatives. I decided not to crop the photos all the way in because I liked the way the small borders looked around the images. Just a personal choice of aesthetics!

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Parker said, on September 2, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    Hey, I was just curious what you used to scan your negatives. I’m going back to film with a pentax k1000 but I’d like to digitize my photos for editing.

    Thanks 🙂

    • Nicole Gelinas said, on September 3, 2012 at 9:37 am

      Hi there! I use an Epson Perfection V300 for scanning my negatives, but keep in mind this version only scans 35mm film. If you plan on ever shooting medium format film I would suggest looking for a model that scans both. Thanks so much for your question! I hope this helped!

      • Parker said, on September 5, 2012 at 5:01 pm

        I plan to use only 35mm, but that may change after time. I’ve never done any work with medium format. I have such fond memories of 35mm b&w film and manual SLRs. Really excited to start shooting again! Thanks for replying so quickly!

  2. […] portraits were taken the same day that we found the pretty cat on the beach! It was very overcast that day, so there were no harsh shadows to worry about. That being said, the […]

  3. Jessica Kittle said, on April 3, 2012 at 12:34 pm

    ah I didn’t read properly, it was a Kodak 400CN. I have used that a couple of times, I love the old-fashioned feel of it. You’ve inspired me now, I think I still have a Kodak 200CN in the fridge…:)

    • Nicole Gelinas said, on April 3, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      Awesome! I would love to see what you do with it!!

  4. Jessica Kittle said, on April 3, 2012 at 12:31 pm

    What a beautiful cat it is, and I love the film you’ve used. What kind was it, if I may ask? I love the second photo the most, because you can see more of the surroundings and you’re at the cat’s eye level. Great job!.

    • Nicole Gelinas said, on April 3, 2012 at 1:05 pm

      Thanks! I’m glad you like it! I used Kodak BW400CN for these shots and you can usually find it still in stores like Walmart or Walgreens and have it 1 hour processed because it uses color negative chemicals!

  5. Jim said, on April 3, 2012 at 12:22 pm

    I haven’t tried the BW400CN but have been tempted. These images look good.

    • Nicole Gelinas said, on April 3, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      Thanks! It’s not too bad and you can still find it for sale in stores which is convenient. Although when you scan it, you have to turn your scans to black and white (or desaturate them) or you get a magenta color cast on the image. This is probably from the color processing, but it works great for me!


Leave a Reply

