AKIRA 2000N LURKING IN THE SHADOWS

Posted in 35MM CAMERAS, TOY CAMERAS by Nicole Gelinas on April 23, 2012

I often find myself very attracted to shadows created by trees. The way that the light spots in the deep shade is just really beautiful to me. I also love when a shadow from a tree juts across the landscape and really creates interest and depth in the photo. I feel that these images really capture the spirit of the Northwest as you often find yourself enclosed in the shadows of the foliage.

For these shots I used the Akira 2000N loaded with Kodak Max, ISO400, Kodacolor print film (35mm) that expired on August of 2001. I was very delighted to see that there actually was quite a bit of detail in the shadow areas of the photos! To see a few more photos and learn more about the specs of this camera please visit my other post The Foliage by the Pond.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. AKIRA 2000N BEGINNING OF SPRING « said, on April 26, 2012 at 2:36 pm

    […] in seeing more photos taken at the Bloedel Reserve using the Akira 2000N visit my two other posts Lurking in the Shadows and Foliage by the Pond. Like this:LikeOne blogger likes this post. Tagged with: landscape, […]

  2. Rachel Bussieres Photography said, on April 23, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    so magical! i love the expired films. beautiful light.

    • Nicole Gelinas said, on April 23, 2012 at 2:43 pm

      Thank you so much! Your work is so very beautiful! Do you shoot mainly with film?

  3. Jim said, on April 23, 2012 at 11:40 am

    I really like the second shot — good use of shadow and the willow (?) tree at the end of the grassy path really works. It proves yet again that it’s not the camera, but the photographer.

    • Nicole Gelinas said, on April 23, 2012 at 2:47 pm

      Wow! Thanks so much. That is probably the best comment I have ever received! But you are so right it is not about the camera, it is about what the photographer sees and how they choose to capture their subjects that truly sets people apart and makes powerful images. I am so glad someone else gets that!

  4. vnettum said, on April 23, 2012 at 11:08 am

    I can’t see two of your pictures, but the third I can see, beautiful pic 🙂 also a littlebit scary

    • Nicole Gelinas said, on April 23, 2012 at 2:45 pm

      Hmm, wonder why you can only see one…? Thanks for looking anyway! And your right, shooting in the shadows like this really gives a very sunny and happy day sort of an eerie feel!

      • vnettum said, on April 23, 2012 at 3:07 pm

        I can see it now, my computer is not cooperative all the time hehe. But I love this one in the middle, like if it’s something secret. You are an artist my friend!

        • Nicole Gelinas said, on April 23, 2012 at 6:02 pm

          Aww. Thanks! Glad your computer is cooperating now 🙂


Leave a Reply

