NEW STOCK OF CAMERAS THE RUSSIAN EDITION

Posted in UNCATEGORIZED by Nicole Gelinas on June 27, 2012

I hardly ever spend tons of money on cameras. Most of the time my cameras come from thrift stores, second hand stores, and yard sales. These are all really good places to find nice working cameras for usually $10 or less. For these three cameras (Smena 8M, Fed 5B, and Lubitel 166B) I made an exception and went over my $10 limit, but I think it will be well worth it. The Smena 8M is made out of plastic and takes 35mm film, but the coating on the lens is supposed to give the film some really interesting color shifts, so I have read. The Fed 5B is a 35mm rangefinder camera that is really heavy duty and has an Industar lens which is supposed to be close in comparison to a Leica camera, but with a much better price tag! The Lubitel 166B is a medium format camera, 120 film, twin lens reflex camera. I am really excited to shoot with these three cameras!!! Anyone else out there shooting with Russian cameras?

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. abhoan said, on August 31, 2012 at 11:06 am

    I actually owned a Fed 4 but I sold it because I wanted to upgrade. And then because I was working in Lomo, so they gave me a Lubitel free!! (yay!!).. Now I’m using a Kiev 60 and its quite amazing. All in all russian cameras, heavy but totally worth the value!

    • Nicole Gelinas said, on August 31, 2012 at 3:28 pm

      The Keiv 60 looks like an amazing camera. I had to look it up just now because I have never heard of it, but it looks similar to my Mamiya RB67. So do you work for Lomography still?


Leave a comment